Deadline: 1 June 2017
Call for entries

2017 Lumen Prize

An international open call for artists engaged with digital technology.

Welcoming submissions from March 22, The Lumen Prize is an international award that celebrates artists working with digital technology. The competition offers a prize fund of $10,500, plus inclusion in Lumen’s annual programme of exhibitions and events which take place globally for shortlisted and winning artists.

Now in its 6th year, The Lumen Prize has awarded over $40,000 in prize money and has staged over 30 exhibitions worldwide, in cities including New York, Shanghai, Amsterdam and Athens.

The 2017 prizes are:
• Gold Award ($3000)
• Moving Image ($1000)
• Still Image ($1000)
• AR/VR ($1000)
• 3D/Sculpture ($1000)
• Interactive ($1000)
• Web-based ($1000)
• Founder’s Award ($750)
• Meural Student Prize ($500)
• People’s Choice Award ($250)

The 2017 Jury Panel includes Doug Dodds (Senior Curator, Victoria & Albert Museum, London), Foteini Aravani (Digital Curator, Museum of London), Michael Takeo Magruder (2015 Lumen Prize category winner), Tessa Jackson (independent curator and consultant), Weiwei Wang (Curator, Museum of Contemporary Art, Shanghai) and Bruce Wands (Chair Emeritus, School of Visual Arts, New York).

The Longlist will be determined by the International Selectors’ Committee co-chaired by Irini Papadimitriou (V&A and Watermans) and Janice Lane (National Museum Wales). This year’s ISC, made up of curators, gallerists, and academics, includes Carla Gannis (artist and digital professor at Pratt Institute, NY), Kelani Nichole (TRANSFER Gallery), Alessio de Vecchi (artist) and Scott Draves (artist).

Artists who have been shortlisted and/or received awards include: Jon McCormack, Carla Gannis, Golan Levin, Esther Rolinson, Fabiano Mixo, Sam Rolfes, Matteo Zamagni, Claire Reika Wright, Marpi and onformative.

Please note, there is an admission fee of $45. This covers two entries and goes directly to the prize fund.

For more information and to enter, go to